//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My Post-London Marathon Bump

I can hear you already. I can hear the voices, strangled in pain, crying across from The Mall in a incandescent wail matched only by the pain of walking down a small set of stairs.  It squeals – “YOU didn’t RUN the London Marathon!  How can you possibly get a post Marathon bump?!”

Ok, perhaps I over-egged that one a bit.  But I am feeling surprisingly motivated to run again, which has seen me back out on the pavement and even – gasp – considering making my Chasers track debut.  And it’s all because of the feats of not just the pros – but actually moreso everyone else who ran, particularly those who filled my social media feeds over the Sunday with great photos and memories.  I’m so incredibly happy for, and perhaps just a tiny, tiny bit (incredibly) jealous of everyone who got to run on Sunday; it has just really spurred me on to find that 30/60 minutes most days to get out and run.  It doesn’t matter at the moment how far or how fast – I’m just trying to get out and run on a regular basis.

There is quite a long way until Frankfurt (October), so I need to be careful not to injure myself – but I know already what my challenge for this next marathon will be.  I need to maintain my motivation.  I’m really good (who isn’t?) at being motivated for the first chunk of training.  When I look at the data from my Rotterdam preparation, I was bang on track (more or less) for the first few months, but dropped off with a month or so to go.  This would be annoying if it wasn’t what I have done for pretty much every marathon I’ve ever run.  I start off well, maintain that for a few months and then grind to a screeching halt with about 6 weeks to go – losing all of that good work from the leadup, resulting in a stagger over the finish line.

Any advice would be great actually; how do you maintain your motivation in the latter stages of your marathon training?  And a massive congratulations to everyone who completed London – you are an inspiration!

Listening To: ‘Where The City Meets The Sea’ by The Getaway Plan

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “My Post-London Marathon Bump

  1. Nice blog Sean. I think the important thing is to know the key reasons why you’re running the event before you get into the hard training – then use these as motivation to call on when times get particularly tough.

    If you keep these in mind and visualise yourself running on the day and having that dream day, I think that should really help.

    Posted by Joe Spraggins | April 25, 2017, 2:36 pm
    • Cheers mate – that ‘key reasons’ part is something I have been struggling with to be honest; and it is an area of development for me as much as my 5km PB or my core strength. Part of being on the more neurotic end of the spectrum I suppose – but something to think about nonetheless. I’ll be taking your recent exploits on as motivation to be sure!

      Posted by seanmackin99 | April 25, 2017, 4:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

Marathon Times

Marathon
I have completed seven marathons; reducing my personal best time by 1:12:03 between my first and my fastest.

2012 Edinburgh 5:00:42
2013 Thames Meander 4:51:58
2014 Edinburgh 4:36:37
2016 Walking Marathon 8:21:00
2016 Rome 3:48:39
2016 Ironman UK 4:40:59
2017 Rotterdam 4:13:00

Run

5km – 20:32

10km – 43:44

Half – 1:33:22

Marathon – 3:48:39

Triathlon

Olympic Triathlon - 02:40:10 (32:53, 1:12:18, 46:13)

Middle Distance Triathlon - 5:40:59 (46:56, 2:57:59, 1:43:53)

Ironman - 13:46:57 (1:23:55, 7:17:42, 4:41:25)

Tweet!

